PCOSupport Community Forums  

Go Back   PCOSupport Community Forums > PCOSA Forums > Medications

Notices

Old 09-08-2006, 05:04 AM   #1
PamCake

Default Metformin... what not to eat?

Hi everybody!
I've been newly diagnosed with PCOS, and my doctor prescribed Metformin today (in hopes that it would help with my menstrual irregularities, weight issues, etc.)
Really, though, I'm new to all of this. I've been sort-of researching PCOS all evening and learning a lot... I've done a little reading about Metformin and I must admit that I'm scared of the side effects (mostly the nausea). I gathered that there seems to be a connection between diet and the severity of side effects... and I wondered if you have any advice for a newbie? I know that all people react differently to meds, but I was curious about what seems to help you and what seems to make things worse?
I appreciate any info!
Many thanks,
Pam
Old 09-08-2006, 03:25 PM   #2
sarahj

Today is the start of my second week on metformin, and it hasn't been that bad. I have been staying away from sugar and refined carbohydrates. I have been eating alot of lean protein and veggies. More specifically: chicken, seafood, salads, leafy greens. HTH
Old 09-09-2006, 12:13 AM   #3
luvdagiants

Default I am with you Pamcake

I am recently diagnosed as well. I am on my second week of Metformin and it is kicking my butt. Not to scare ya or anything, but I have been constantly sick to my stomach. I have tried the protein and veggies, but even those are turning my stomach now. I would to read some suggestions for a newbie as well!
Old 09-09-2006, 03:51 AM   #4
PamCake

Thanks for your responses.. Today was my first day (I took 500 mg with breakfast). I've been drinking low-carb/low-fat meal replacements twice a day, and eating real food in the evening. Tonight I had a tofu "hot dog" with a low-carb tortilla and apple.